Close Menu
Port St. Lucie Personal Injury Lawyer
Call To Schedule A Consultation 772-905-8692

Fort Pierce DUI Lawyer

Being convicted of a DUI is a life changing event—one that many people struggle to bounce back from, especially if they are penalized to the fullest extent of the law. Penalties range from jail time, fines, license suspension, mandatory community service, impounded vehicle, and more. You could be stripped of professional licenses, fired or looked over when it comes time for promotions, and shunned from your community as well. Here at the law offices of the Eighmie Law Firm, our Fort Pierce DUI lawyers help clients beat DUI charges and minimize the consequences of DUI convictions.

Florida DUI Laws

It is illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or greater. Driving with a BAC of 0.15 or more, or driving with a BAC of 0.08 with a minor in the car, will incur additional penalties. From 2003 to 2012, close to 8,500 people were killed in alcohol related traffic collisions in Florida alone, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. As such, Florida’s DUI laws are very strict.

DUI Penalties Including Jail and Fines

According to Florida statute 316.193, the Florida fine schedule for a DUI is as follows:

First DUI Conviction:

  • $500 to $1,000; or
  • $1,000 to $2,000 if BAC is higher than 0.15 or the driver had a minor in the car.

Second DUI Conviction:

  • $1,000 to $2,000; or
  • $2,000 to $4,000 if BAC is higher than 0.15 or the driver had a minor in the car.

Third DUI Conviction Within 10 Years of the Second Conviction:

  • $2,000 to $5,000; or
  • Not less than $5,000 if BAC is higher than 0.15 or the driver had a minor in the car.

Third DUI Conviction More Than 10 Years From the Second Conviction:

  • $2,000 or more than $5,000.
  • Not less than $5,000 if BAC is higher than 0.15 or the driver had a minor in the car.

Fourth DUI Conviction

  • Not less than $2,000; or
  • Not less than $4,000 if BAC is higher than 0.15 or the driver had a minor in the car.

Additional Penalties

In addition to the fines outlined above, Florida imposes the following for a first time DUI:

  • Minimum of eight hours in jail and a maximum of six months;
  • Minimum of 50 hours of community service and potentially an added fine of $10 per hour of community service;
  • Your vehicle will be impounded for 10 days; and
  • Your driver’s license will be revoked for at least six months and up to one year.

The court may also order your car to be outfitted with an ignition interlock device, which requires that you blow into the device every time before you start your car to prove that you are not intoxicated. You will also be required to retake your driver’s exam and pay close to a half dozen other fees, including impound and towing fees, license reinstatement, increased auto insurance, and administrative suspension fees. In total, a first time DUI can easily cost between $5,000 and $10,000 depending on the circumstances.

Call a Fort Pierce DUI Attorney For Help Today

Being arrested and processed for a DUI is a traumatic, confusing experience. But, do not lose hope. Our Fort Pierce DUI lawyers here at the Eighmie Law Firm, P.A. are in your corner. We can help you fight back against field sobriety and Breathalyzer results, as well as bring into question enforcement procedures. Call us at 772-905-8692 today.

Share This Page:
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2015 Eighmie law Firm, P.A. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab